919-533-7000

Raleigh | Smithfield | Charlotte | Orlando

IL accident lawyerAccording to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, more than 600,000 car accidents each year involve a hit-and-run driver, accounting for around 6.5 percent of all car crash injuries and around 4.5 percent of all fatalities. If you or someone in your family has been the victim of one of these accidents, recovering compensation for your injuries can be quite difficult. However, it is by no means impossible, and an experienced attorney can help you identify and pursue the best course of action.

Identifying the Fleeing Driver

Any time you are injured in a car accident, you should call 911 as soon as possible so that you can get medical help and the police can arrive to create an accident report. This is especially important after a hit-and-run, as there may be a limited window during which the police are best able to locate the at-fault driver. You should give the responding officer as much information as possible about the driver, including the color, make, and model of their vehicle; their license plate number; the direction in which they left the scene; and any details about their physical appearance. Witnesses to the crash may also be willing to provide helpful information that you might have missed yourself.

It is also a good idea to hire an attorney as soon as possible after your accident. Your lawyer can work with law enforcement and help you identify any other possible sources of evidence that could be used to locate the driver, including video footage from nearby security or surveillance cameras. If the police can pinpoint the identity of a hit-and-run driver based on the available evidence, the driver can face felony charges and driver’s license suspension, in addition to civil liability for the injuries you have suffered.

...

b2ap3_thumbnail_carpal-tunnel.jpgWork-related injuries are unfortunately common, especially for employees in high-risk industries like construction and others that involve heavy equipment or physical strain. If you are injured on the job in North Carolina, you are usually entitled to benefits under your employer’s workers’ compensation coverage. However, it can be difficult to understand the full amount and types of benefits to which you are entitled in order to ensure that you receive them. An experienced attorney can help you ensure fair compensation, but it is also a good idea to educate yourself about the types of benefits available in North Carolina.

Types of Workers’ Compensation Benefits in North Carolina

North Carolina workers’ comp benefits help to reimburse you for many different economic losses associated with your injuries. Depending on the type of injury you have suffered and the severity of its effects, you may be owed compensation for one or more of the following:

  • Medical treatment - Your employer is required to provide for the costs of all treatment deemed medically necessary for your injuries. This may include surgery, hospital stays, medication, rehabilitation, and up to 20 chiropractor visits. If you need to travel at least 20 miles round trip for your treatment, you will also be reimbursed at a rate of $0.56 per mile for travel in 2021.
  • Lost wages - Workers’ compensation also provides benefits for lost wages, but only if your injury causes you to miss work for at least 7 days. These are also known as temporary disability benefits, and they are usually paid weekly at a rate of two-thirds of the wages lost. Temporary disability payments last until you are able to return to work at full capacity, or for up to 500 weeks.
  • Permanent disability - If your injury has lasting effects from which you will never fully recover, you are entitled to permanent disability benefits. The amount is determined based on the type of injury and the impairment rating according to your doctor’s report, and it can be paid weekly or all at once. Some injuries, including severe brain and spinal cord injuries, severe burn injuries, and the loss of more than one eye or limb, are considered permanent total disabilities, and in this case, you can receive compensation for the rest of your life.
  • Vocational rehabilitation - If your injury prevents you from returning to your previous job with at least 75 percent of your previous wages, you are entitled to vocational rehabilitation services, including training, education, and vocational assessment, to help you increase your earning capacity and find new work.
  • Death benefits - If your spouse or someone upon whom you are financially dependent dies in a work-related accident, you are entitled to compensation for a portion of their lost wages, as well as up to $10,000 in funeral and burial expenses.

Contact a Raleigh, NC Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

At Vasquez Law Firm, PLLC, we are committed to helping injured workers and their families secure all of the compensation they deserve. We can represent you throughout the process of your workers’ compensation claim, and we may also be able to help you recover pain and suffering damages from a negligent third party who was responsible for your injuries. Contact our Wake County workers’ comp attorneys today at 919-533-7000 or 844-967-3536 for a free consultation. Hablamos español.

...

Wake County personal injury attorney truck accident

Large commercial trucks are a vital part of our American way of life. However, trucks can also cause severe, often deadly auto accidents. Truck collisions and crashes caused by fallen truck cargo injure and kill thousands of people every year in the United States. If you or a loved one were hurt in a truck accident, you may be entitled to financial compensation for your damages. However, before you can recover compensation, you must determine who is liable, or legally responsible, for the accident.

Truck Drivers May Cause an Accident By Acting Negligently

Semi-trucks and other large commercial trucks can cause catastrophic damage in a collision. Truck drivers have an extremely important responsibility to other motorists. A truck driver who fails to follow traffic laws and signals puts his or her own life and the lives of others in danger. A truck driver may be liable for your damages if the driver’s negligence caused the collision. Examples of truck driver negligence include:

...

Wake County personal injury attorney

If you were hurt in a car accident, slip and fall accident, or another incident caused by the negligent actions of another party, you may be interested in filing a personal injury claim. An injury claim may allow you to recover financial compensation for your medical bills, lost income, and other damages caused by the accident. North Carolina personal injury lawsuits are subject to the state’s laws regarding “contributory negligence.” It is important to learn about how this law may affect your eligibility for damages.

Shared Liability for an Injury-Causing Accident

Many different elements can cause a person to be injured in an accident. Sometimes, the injured person’s own actions caused or contributed to the severity of his or her injuries. Personal injury claims involving shared fault are handled differently depending on the applicable state laws. North Carolina is one of the few states that follow a legal doctrine called “contributory negligence.” This means that you are not entitled to any damages if your injuries were caused by your own negligence. Even if your actions were only 1 percent the cause of the accident, you are typically barred from recovering compensation. However, your negligent actions must have contributed to your injuries in order for this negligence to prevent you from collecting damages. If you acted recklessly but this behavior did not cause or worsen the injury-causing accident, your negligence does not prevent you from recovering damages.

...

Johnston County personal injury attorney motorcycle accident

Riding a motorcycle can be an exhilarating way to travel. Unfortunately, it is also quite risky. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) states that over 5,000 motorcyclists died in the year 2017 and thousands more were injured. If you or a loved one were hurt in a motorcycle accident, you may be left with enormous medical bills and other expenses related to the crash. A personal injury claim may allow you to recover financial compensation for these costs if a negligent party is found to be at fault.

Establish the At-Fault Party

Before you can seek compensation for your costs through a motorcycle accident injury claim, you will need to determine the party who is liable, or legally responsible, for the accident. Liability may lie with another driver who was under the influence of alcohol, texting and driving or was otherwise driving carelessly. Legal responsibility may also lie with the manufacturer of a faulty motorcycle part, the municipality who failed to properly maintain the road, a trucking company, or a number of other parties. Evidence such as a red-light camera or dash camera footage, vehicle event data recorders, and witness testimony may all be used to confirm the responsible party’s liability. An attorney experienced in car accident injury cases will be able to help you gather evidence to strengthen your claim against the at-fault driver.  

...
des channel 40 aila ncsb justice aila char
Back to Top