Raleigh | Smithfield | Charlotte | Orlando | Goldsboro

What Are the NC Penalties for Possession or Distribution of Marijuana?

 Posted on March 11, 2021 in Criminal Defense

Smithfield, NC criminal defense attorney marijuana possession

Although the majority of U.S. states have legalized cannabis consumption in some form, both the medical and recreational use of marijuana is prohibited in North Carolina. Possessing, cultivating, and distributing marijuana is punishable by heavy penalties -- including jail time in some cases. If you or a loved one have been charged with a marijuana-related crime in North Carolina. It is important to know what you are up against. Do not assume that because public opinion regarding marijuana has shifted that you do not need to take these charges seriously.

Consequences for Possession of Cannabis Vary by Quantity

It is unlawful to possess any amount of marijuana or marijuana-containing product in North Carolina. If you possess less than half of an ounce of cannabis, you face a misdemeanor charge that is punishable by a maximum fine of $200. However, possession of greater than half of an ounce of marijuana can land you in jail. Penalties for possession of 0.5 ounce – 1.5 ounce of marijuana include up to 45 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Possession of 1.5 ounces – 10 pounds is a felony offense punishable by 3-8 months in jail and a maximum $1,000 fine.

Possession with Intent to Distribute

If you are caught with more than 10 pounds of marijuana, you will almost certainly be charged with “possession with intent to distribute.” In North Carolina, possession of greater than 10 pounds of cannabis with intent to distribute is punishable by mandatory minimum sentences. The penalties for possession with intent to distribute include:

  • 10 – 50 pounds of cannabis is punishable by 25 – 39 months imprisonment and a fine of up to $5,000

  • 50 – 2000 pounds of cannabis is punishable by 35 – 51 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $25,000

  • 2000 – 10,000 pounds of cannabis is punishable by 70 – 93 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $50,000

  • 10,000 pounds or more of cannabis is punishable by 175 – 222 months imprisonment and a fine of up to $200,000

Additionally, the sale or delivery of marijuana is a felony offense in North Carolina. It is also a felony to grow marijuana plants.

Contact a Smithfield Drug Crimes Defense Lawyer

The penalties for the possession, distribution, sale, or cultivation of cannabis in North Carolina are some of the strictest in the country. If you have been charged with a marijuana-related crime, it is essential that you take steps to protect your freedom. The Johnston County criminal defense attorneys at the Vasquez Law Firm, PLLC have over 35 years of collective legal experience. Our team can help you build a tenacious defense against drug charges. Call 844-967-3536 or 1-844-YO-PELEO to schedule a free, confidential consultation. Hablamos Español.




Share this post:
des channel 40 aila ncsb justice aila char
Back to Top